Saturday

Last night one of my friends from high school, Steven, who also just finished undergrad came up to visit so we could catch up and party before I leave for Florida. This morning he took me to the grocery store because I was super-low on food. My haul:

  • 2 watermelons (one I cut, one hiding in the back)
  • strawberries
  • blackberries
  • frozen blackberries
  • frozen mango
  • 3 peppers
  • 3 tomatoes
  • 2 500 oz 2% Greek yogurt
  • unsweetened almond milk
  • frozen pre-cooked chicken breast

The above came to above $45. Hopefully it’s the right amount to last me until I leave for Florida Thursday!

After unpacking I made Steven and I both protein smoothies-I love showing off my smoothie making skills! Then we went to the gym in my apartment. I did an upper body workout:

  • Chest press: 35 lb dumbbells, 8×5
  • Chest flyes: 30 lb dumbbells, 8×5
  • Straight-arm flyes: 10 lb dumbbells, 8×5
  • Bicep curls: 15 lb dumbbells, 8×5
  • One-leg tricep dips: 8×5

Working out with another person was really fun! We had the gym to ourselves and could chat between lifts. Steven knows a lot about lifting and was able to give me some helpful tips, like telling me to use a lower weight for the straight-arm flyes in order to raise my arms just slightly above parallel instead of below (really I needed 12 lb dumbbells but they didn’t have them) and going slower on lifts for a better workout.

After he left I threw in a load of laundry, straightened my apartment, and made 3 small chicken breasts, yellow pepper, tomato, mushrooms, and avocado for lunch. Then my old roommate picked me up to go tanning at the campus pool for a couple hours. I wanted to get a nice tan but not turn into a lobster for graduation tomorrow, and I think I was successful!

After the pool I walked down to the main part of campus to run some errands:

  • Got my eyebrows waxed and toenails painted for graduation. (I always get a polish change which is much cheaper than a pedicure–only $8-10!)
  • Picked up some clothes that I’d left in my friends’ apartment, and nabbed a chocolate chip cookie that one of them baked.
  • Bought new headphones for $4 at the discount clothing warehouse.
  • And…got a new camera! It’s a Canon Powershot Elph 300 HS:
Image

My old camera broke in France, so I’ve been camera-less for awhile and I’ve really been missing it. I decided to check out Radioshack to see what they had. I’d read really good reviews of this camera and when I saw it on sale for $149, I couldn’t resist! I’m excited to be able to document my time in Florida as well as take higher quality pictures for this blog, so expect some better pictures forthcoming!

Afterwards I made a GIANT (22oz) frozen yogurt at the self-serve fro-yo place, which I demolished on the walk home. According to the nutrition facts the original frozen yogurt is 75 calories for a 4oz serving (except um that’s not a serving?) so 22oz is less than 425 calories—SO worth it IMO. I’ve been fighting a sore throat/losing my voice and the fro-yo felt so good on my throat.

Now I’m back in my apartment, and my plan is to stay in for the night—I’ve been out the past two nights and I’m pretty tired! I also don’t want to be hungover for graduation or lose my voice anymore than I already am! This is one of those nights where it sucks to living right above a bar—I’m pretty sure it’s going to be LOUD. Crossing my fingers that I can sleep through it!

Leave a Reply

