Pre-graduation Reflections and Countdown

As graduation draws near, I am so grateful to have my life fall (mostly) into place and to have post-graduation plans that I am happy and excited about.

This time two months ago, I was dreading graduation because I had NO idea what the heck I’d be doing, where I would be living, or what the future had in store for me. I was literally miserable with jealousy every time I logged onto facebook and saw that another acquaintance had gotten a job offer, been accepted into law school, was moving to a new city, etc.

But now I can honestly say that I would not trade my post-grad plans with anyone or anything. And if I’m being completely honest, I think my future plans beat anyone else’s that I’ve heard. I mean, how many people get to go live on the beach for eight months AND have a holy-shit-I-can’t-believe-anyone-would-ever-pay-me-this-much finance job waiting for them on the other end? It seems like everything has clicked into place for me, and I keep waiting for the other shoe to drop, but maybe it won’t–maybe sometimes you just get this lucky.

Anyway, this is what my life is looking like for the next month:

  • May 16-17: Finals–Business Policies and Econometrics on Wednesday, followed by Globalization of Capital Markets on Thursday. Then I’m done with school FOREVER!! for now. Who knows what the future will hold?
  • May 18-19: Graduation parties. Woo-hoo!
  • May 20: Graduation! University of Maryland is so big that we have individual ceremonies for each college as well as a general ceremony. I’m skipping the general ceremony and just doing the business school’s ceremony–my degree is in Finance and Economics. My little sister is coming from Pittsburgh, and my parents and aunt and uncle are coming too. We’re going to lunch beforehand then graduation is in the evening. Initially I didn’t want to go to any of the ceremonies because I was so unsure about my future, but once things solidified I decided to, and I’m so glad I am!
  • May 21-22: Baltimore and DC to catch up with my BFFs before I leave–I am going to miss these girls so much!! I will miss the cities as well, especially Baltimore which is where I was born and lived until age 7.
  • May 24– June 7: Ft Lauderdale!!! As I mentioned before, I am dating a guy who lives in Ft Lauderdale that I met on when I was on spring break. He bought my plane ticket literally less than a week after I got back from spring break. At this point, I hadn’t decided to move to Ft Lauderdale, hence the vacation right before I actually move there. This works out well though, because it gives me two trips to get my stuff down there.
  • June 8 – 11: Ohio with my family for my Grandma’s 95th bday. I didn’t know about this until after I had my tickets for Ft Lauderdale, but the timing is perfect and I’m so glad that I’ll get to see my extended family before I leave!
  • June 11-13/14: Visiting my sister in Pittsburgh. My parents will drop us both off on the way back from our grandparents’, then I’ll take the bus back.
  • June 16: One-way ticket to Ft Lauderdale!!!

I have more to say about Ft Lauderdale but I need to get back to studying for finals! But that’s what’s going on in my life right now 🙂

Image

(Okay I had to throw in at least one Ft Lauderdale picture!)

2 Responses

  1. I didn’t know you were a Terrapin! I went to UVA! You know you can always joing us here in DC for the long term, we’d love to have ya 🙂

    • Yup, I’m not sure if I put it on the blog before or not but I figured there’s no reason not to! And I always wanted to move down south, but who knows, maybe I’ll be back in the area some day!

Leave a Reply

