Giant Dinner Salad

Check out my giant salad! Into this guy went:

  • 8oz tuna steak
  • 6 hardboiled egg whites
  • 1 tbsp chopped walnuts
  • 2 tbsp feta cheese (REGULAR BECAUSE FAT-FREE IS GROSS!)
  • Spinach
  • Cucumber
  • Carrots
  • 1/2 cup frozen raspberries
  • Lemon/pepper/garlic powder for dressing

Stats came out to:

  • 550 calories
  • 85g protein
  • 30g carbs
  • 12g fat

Lots of protein but I thought the fat would be higher!! That’s my problem: it’s easy to cut calories by sacrificing fat. I actually struggle to get enough fat in my diet even though I make an effort to…whereas it seems like carbs are in EVERYTHING even though I make an effort to avoid them!

*   *   *   *   *   *

Today was one of those days when I felt really blah…I get really affected by the rapid changes in weather and it’s hard to control that. Especially after going to Florida for spring break and the streak of 80 degree days we were having before that, it’s hard to readjust to blah weather. I had trouble falling asleep last night, then when I woke up at noon it was 45 degrees and cloudy and I decided to email in all my assignments and just skip class. I had a smoothie and protein bar then just stayed in bed and slept all day. Woke up at 8:30pm, had an apple, then headed to the gym for a short workout.
  • 45 degree leg press: 180 lbs added: 8 reps x 3, 230 lbs added: 8×2
  • Straight-leg deadlifts: 80 lbs: 8 reps x 3 sets, 90 lbs x 2 sets
  • Sumo squats: 65 lbs: 8×1, 70 lbs: 8×1, 75 lbs: 8×3
  • 15 minutes on the elliptical

The gym also makes me feel better…not all the way better but better. And now I’m eating my salad and watching GCB on my laptop (I LOVE that show!). Saturday it will be 70 degrees and Sunday it will be 80 degrees and it looks like it should be in the 70s for awhile from there on out. And 6 weeks from tomorrow I’ll be back in Florida…maybe for good!! It’s just that 6 weeks just seems unfathomably long to me right now…

Leave a Reply

