Back on a Deficit

For the past 3.5 weeks I’ve been eating at maintenance to give myself a break, keep my metabolism up, and coordinate with spring break and a lot of travelling. Not gonna lie, I kinda love it. I maintain averaging ~2500 calories/day—it’s not exactly hard to stay under that. And as long as I seek out high protein foods and avoid starches, I can pretty much eat whatever I want. Yup, I probably live with this for the rest of my life.

But I want to lose a little more weight. Mostly because I can. If I was struggling to maintain right now, I wouldn’t bother to lose more. But considering that I could keep losing weight if I just exerted a modicum of willpower, it’s like why the hell not? I love the process and progress and I want to take my body up a notch. So I am.

I’m aiming for an 1800-2000 daily calorie. That should be a sufficient deficit to lose about a pound per week. If I eat less than that, I won’t be able to lift like I want to. And I don’t really feel like eating less than that because lt’s be real, I don’t have THAT much willpower. I hate being hungry. I’ll do this for 6 weeks, up to May 21st, which is right after college graduation and before I go back to Florida (more on that later!)

I prefer to think about nutrition and intake on a weekly basis. So 1800-2000 cal/day equals 12,600-14,000 cal week. Additionally I like to calorie cycle, and you better believe I’m going to be drinking. So I’m going to make this really easy for myself and shoot for 1500 calories 3-4x/week and 2000 calories 3-4x/week. Plus 1000 calories allocated towards alcohol. That puts me at 13,000-13,500 cal per week—right what I’m shooting for.

My ideal ratio is 35% carbs 35% protein 30% fat. So that means 130g calories, 130g protein, and 50g fat on 1500 calorie days; 175g carbs, 175g protein, 67g fat on 2000 calorie days. Of course I won’t be able to stick to this exactly, but it gives me a framework to work from, and I’ll be tracking in LoseIt to see how this works for me (which should be easier when I’m not travelling).

Honestly, I’m a little worried I won’t be able to handle eating 1500 cal/day because I’ve been SO hungry lately, especially in the past week when I lifted 6 times. I also feel like I’ve eaten 3000+ calories on many occasions over the past 3.5 weeks and that the average probably comes out to higher than 2500. It’s possible my maintenance is more like 2800-3000 when I’m lifting hardcore, in which case a 1800-2000 avg would be too low. So if I’m ravenously hungry I’ll change my target to 2000 every day and try to take it easy on the alcohol (in theory…!)

Exercise-wise, my weekly plan is:
-Lift 4x
-30 min cardio 3x
-HIIT 1-2x
-3 mile outdoor run

Also, I’m not going to weigh myself until next Monday, but then I’ll resume my normal daily weigh-ins. And I’ll let you guys know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

