Normal Eating

I wanted to do a post of a day of “normal” eating–not tracking calories, not on vacation, not traveling, not drinking.

Breakfast: Protein smoothie with water, ice, whey powder, frozen strawberries, frozen mango, and 1/2 banana.

Followed by a ThinkThin white chocolate protein bar (these are the BEST: 230 calories, 20g protein, 25g carbs, 8g fat)

Lunch: Two Subway veggie patties chopped up on a “salad” of condiments. They wouldn’t let me just pay for the patties this time, so I got the salad with lettuce, tomato, cucumber, onion, green peppers, pickles, banana peppers, jaleopenos, red hots, and lots of yellow mustard as dressing.

Snacks: 30 oz unsweetened iced tea with soymilk (x3), GIANT brown pear, and almonds (I ate about 1/2 the bag). Did you know that refills on Starbucks iced tea and coffee are only 53 cents?? And free after you use a Starbucks gift card 15 times! I JUST found this out! I took full advantage and got all three iced tea flavors (green tea, black tea, and passion fruit) over the course of the afternoon as I worked on homework (and, um, blogging).

Dinner: Approximately 9oz of tuna steak with a big head of broccoli, yellow squash, orange pepper, and 1/4 avocado. (I defrosted the tuna then cooked it and the veggies minus avocado in the oven with pepper, garlic powder, and olive oil spray.) I also drank diet iced tea with unsweetened vanilla almond milk.

Total: I wasn’t tracking throughout the day, but I input everything into LoseIt! to see how the numbers came out:

1850 calories, 161 g protein, 183 g carbs, 54 g fat. (40% carbs, 35% protein, 25% fat)

That’s pretty good considering I wasn’t even tracking throughout the day, but I would PREFER 35% carbs, 35% protein, 30% fat. One thing that’s really frustrating is that the soymilk Starbucks uses has 16g carbs, compared to the one I use which has 3g carbs (and 130 calories versus 70) !! Why is that necessary?? I may start bringing my own–that would have saved me 20g carbs throughout the day, and that alone would have brought my ratio to 37% carbs, 37% protein, and 34% fat–better!

I also did an arm workout after dinner:

Arm Workout

  • Chest press: 35 lb dumbbells: 8 reps x 5 sets, 40 lbs: 8 reps x 3 sets
  • Shoulder press: 20 lb dumbbells: 8 reps x 3 sets, 25 lb dumbbells: 8 reps x 3 sets
  • Chest flies: 30 lb dumbbells: 8 reps x 5 sets
  • Horizontal arm raises: 15 lb dumbbells: 8 reps x 3 sets

I was SO happy with this workout because I hit new maximums! 40 lbs is a new max for me on chest press (tried and couldn’t physically lift 45 lbs) and 25 lbs is a new max for me on shoulder press (also tried 30 lbs and could only do one rep). That is what I love best about weight-lifting: pushing myself to the next level! Now if only my legs would catch up to my arms, I really need to work on getting back to where I was on my squats and deadlifts.

One Response

  1. Love the idea of the salad with the veggie patties!

Leave a Reply

