Gym Field Trip and Leg Day

I am a very lucky girl in that I have three gyms to choose from!

  1. My apartment gym, which has free weights but no squat rack, bench press, plates or most of the leg machines that I use. The treadmills are fine but the ellipticals don’t get up to high enough resistance. However, it’s 24/7 so it’s convenient if I want to go late at night, although I only use it for arm workouts.
  2. The small campus gym, about half a mile from me. It’s in a basement and it’s not fancy but it’s convenient and has everything I need so this is where I usually go.
  3. The big rec center about a mile from me near the underclassmen side of campus. It’s state-of-the-art with a giant cardio room with a great view, a two-level weight room, indoor track, olympic swimming pool, and several studio rooms in which fitness classes are offered.

I headed out this morning intending to go to the small gym as usual, but it was so nice outside that I opted for the nice gym instead! I jogged the mile there (note: I am SO out of running shape!!) and did a great leg workout.

Leg Workout:

  • Leg Press: 90 lbs added per side: 8 reps x 5 sets
  • Hack Squats: 45 lbs added per side: 8 reps x 5 sets
  • Hamstring Deadlifts: 95 lbs: 8 reps x 5 sets
  • Squats: 135 lbs: 8 reps x 5 sets

I like switching up the gym because even though the machines perform the same function, they’re not EXACTLY the same and I feel like they work my muscles slightly differently. I followed this up with 25 minutes on the elliptical (note: I just call all aerobic machines “ellipticals” although technically this was something different but similar), then some stretching and three 35 second planks: front and one on each side (nothing too crazy up in here). Then I walked home because my legs were tired!! About to have breakfast (I guess it counts as lunch by now!) and head to class–sadly I will be in the computer lab all evening in Tuesday night MATLAB hell and need to study for an econometrics quiz tomorrow as well, so I’m glad I got my workout checked off my to-do list!

Leave a Reply

