So. Much. Food. (Grocery Shopping!)

My dad drove up to campus this morning to drop off some work for me (sometimes I do data entry for his consulting company) and he took me to Trader Joes. This was my first time grocery shopping in a month, so I stocked up like crazy!! I bought:

Frozen:

  • 2 lbs of frozen tuna steak
  • 4 bags of frozen mangos
  • 4 bags of frozen strawberries
  • 4 bags of frozen blueberries
  • 4 bags of frozen raspberries

Fresh Produce:

  • 6 fuji apples
  • 6 braeburn apples
  • 4 brown pears
  • 8 bananas (I can freeze them)
  • cantaloupe
  • 4 yellow squash
  • 2 red peppers
  • 2 orange peppers
  • 2 yellow peppers
  • broccoli
  • bag of spinach
  • sliced mushrooms
  • avocado
  • garlic cloves

Eggs/Milk/Dairy:

  • 2 dozen eggs
  • 2 pints of liquid egg whites
  • 6 containers 18oz plain Fage greek yogurt (0% and 2%)
  • 6 containers 7oz plain Fage greek yogurt
  • 2 half gallons of plain unsweetened soymilk
  • 2 quarts of unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • feta cheese

Other:

  • Met-Rx vanilla whey protein powder (100 cal/23g protein per scoop!)
  • ~20 ThinkThin protein bars (these are my favorite!)
  • 4 PowerCrunch protein bars
  • 2 bags of raw almonds
  • 85% dark chocolate bar
  • 72% dark chocolate bar

So. Much. Food. I was so happy! The total came to $216.70, which is a LOT, but I got a ton for my money’s worth, and it’s much cheaper (and healthier!) than eating out or buying food from the school shop when I run out. If you have a Trader Joe’s near you, I DEFINITELY recommend checking it out; it’s cheaper than the majority of grocery stores and MUCH cheaper than other healthy/organic stores like Whole Foods. Plus the employees are friendly and there’s a great selection with always something new to try!

2 Responses

  1. This grocery list is aggressive! Thankfully they just opened a TJ’s a block away from my apartment, so I’m going to try to pick up some of your purchases too. The frozen fruit is a great idea, especially because I hate the taste of most protein powders…

    • What kind of protein powders have you tried? I used to eat soy protein powders, which in retrospect were NASTY. Now I use vanilla whey powder–I haven’t tried the one I bought, but the type I normally use is the market pantry brand from Target (http://www.livestrong.com/thedailyplate/nutrition-calories/food/market-pantry-target-brand/whey-protein/) which tastes really good to me–it’s not like I’m trying to disguise the taste. More importantly, I’ve found that I CANNOT make a smoothie without whey powder–it just won’t blend right without it. I’m going to make a post soon on how I make smoothies–I took the pictures this morning! 🙂

Leave a Reply

