Eating at Night

Last night I ate this smoothie around 12:30am. I had been craving a smoothie the whole time I was at the gym, and finally got myself off my computer and into the shower so I could finally make one. (PS I made this GIANT smoothie with just water, ice, about 1.5 cups of frozen strawberries, and a scoop whey powder…it’s all in the whey powder!)

Smoooooothie--just water, ice, frozen strawberries, and whey powder!

Eating at night doesn’t bother me in the slightest. If I’m hungry, I’ll eat. If it’s 1am and I haven’t eaten dinner yet, you can bet I’m eating dinner. If I wake up in the middle of the night hungry, I’ll eat something then go back to sleep–it’s not worth lying there hungry and messing up my sleep! Granted I’m a college student on an erratic schedule, but I would totally do this anyway. I know that if I eat more one day, I’ll be less hungry another day and it all balances out. Our bodies are smart like that!

NOTE 1: Followed this up with 2 more white chocolate ThinkThin protein bars, which I definitely didn’t need. I’m not going to beat myself up over eating freaking protein bars, but I need to stop eating them like candy or I’ll run out (note: this is another reason why I love ThinkThin bars–some brands would make you physically sick if you ate 3 in one day, not these!)

NOTE 2: On the other hand, I didn’t wake up until 12:30pm the next day so didn’t eat anything until 1pm. Sometimes I like feeling happily full (but not uncomfortably full) on carbs right before going to sleep because it makes me fall right asleep and sleep really well, and I needed to catch up on sleep from my weekend of traveling/drinking. (Altogether, the smoothie plus 2 protein bars added 700 calories/80g carb/65g protein/20g fat).

NOTE 3: That just reminded me that I also ate frozen raspberries mixed with soymilk and whey powder when I was too lazy to get myself in and out of the shower so I could make my smoothie…I guess I’ll consider that an appetizer.

NOTE 4: This is probably a sign that my priorities are a little messed up…I’m pretty sure that a normal person (aka not a college student) would skip the extra 800+ calories, get their ass to bed, set an alarm, and manage to make it to the gym and even get some studying done before their  freaking 2PM class. Or alternatively feel at least a modicum of guilt that they didn’t do any of that. Oh well, honestly just getting to sleep every single night is a victory for now (yes really), waking up earlier is the next step…!

 

Leave a Reply

