Week of Workouts

So the week before last (April 25-May 1) I lifted on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday then missed Saturday, Sunday, and Monday. When I got back in the gym on Tuesday (May 3) and worked my lower body for the first time in five days I felt AMAZING. Not just normal “it feels great to be back in the gym” amazing but “my body is more limber, my form is better, and I’m just enjoying myself more” amazing. AND I was lifting heavier weights than before.

So my conclusion is that I need more time off between lifts. Instead of aiming to lift 6 days a week I am shooting for 4. I think this will help me make more progress in my lifts. To fill the gap I plan on adding in more cardio. I know this sounds like a step backwards, but now that the weather is nice I really enjoy running outside and I want to make time for that! Also as the end of the semester approaches my schedule is becoming more erratic and sometimes it’s easier to do a long session in the gym for less days than get to the gym every day.

Anyway, here are my workouts from last week:

MONDAY- off

TUESDAY:

3 mile run around campus

Lower Body (8 reps per set)

  • Squats: 135 x3, 140 x3, 145×2
  • Deadlifts: 95 x3, 105 x3
  • Sumo Squat: 135 x3, 140×3, 145×2
  • Stiff-Leg Deadlift: 95×3, 105×3
Interval Sprints (15 min)
  • 0-2 4.0 mph
  • 2-3 10.0 mph
  • 3-5 4.0 mph
  • 5-6 9.5 mph
  • 6-8 4.0 mph
  • 8-9 9.0 mph
  • 9-11 mph
  • 11-12 8.5 mph
  • 12-14 4.0 mph
  • 14-15 8.0 mph
*DOING THIS RIGHT AFTER LEGS MADE ME ALMOST DIE. I SWEAR
.
15 minutes incline walking on treadmill (4.0 mph, 10.0 incline)
.
30 minutes elliptical
.
(Yes this was a SUPER long workout; brought to you by magazines and facebook chatting on my phone)
.
WEDNESDAY – OFF
.
THURSDAY:
.
3 mile run around campus
.
Upper Body (8 reps per set)
  • Bench Press: 65 lbs x3, 70 lbs x3
  • Chest Press: 30 lbs x5
  • Shoulders: 20 lbs x5
  • Dumbbell Flies: 25 lbs x5
  • Tricep Dips: 5 sets of 10
30 minutes on elliptical
.
FRIDAY:

3 mile run around campus
.
Lower Body (8 reps per set)
  • Leg Press: 270 lbs added* x5
  • Squat: 145 lbs x5
  • Stiff Leg Deadlift: 95 lbs x5
  • Sumo Squat: 145 lbs x5, 150 lbs*, 155 lbs* (yesss)
  • Split Squats: 25 lbs x3
SATURDAY:
.
Upper Body (8 reps per set)
  • Bench Press: 65 lbs x3
  • Incline Chest Press/Incline Dumbbell Flyes (superset): 25 lb dumbbells x3 each
  • Bent-over rows: 35 lb dumbbell x3 per arm
  • Standing Tricep Extension: 30 lb dumbbell x3
  • Lateral Raises: 15 lb dumbbell x3
  • Upright Row: 20 lb dumbbell x3
  • Shoulder Rotator: 25 lb dumbbells x3
  • Tricep Dips: 3 sets of 10
  • Bicep Curls: 15 lbs x2, 20 lbs
15 minutes incline walking on treadmill (4.0 mph, 10.0 incline)
.
SUNDAY – OFF
.
Now I’m headed back to the gym this morning, yay!
Leave a Reply

