Operation Protein?

Despite getting to bed at 10pm last night, I could not fall asleep FOREVER. I alternated between lying awake with my eyes shut and reading Pride and Prejudice on my Droid (oh Droid, what would I do without you?) As a result, I didn’t wake up til 10:30, and immediately headed to the gym for the first upper body workout of the week.

Upper Body (8 reps per set)

  • Bench Press: 60 lbs x3, 65 lbs x 3, 70 lbs, 75 lbs* (maxed out at 4 reps)
  • Chest Press: 25 lb dumbbells x3, 30 lbs x 3
  • Incline Chest Press: 25 lb dumbbells x5
  • Seated Military Press: 20 lb dumbbells x5
  • Tricep Dips: 5 sets of 10
(* = my highest weight for given exercise)
.
Looking back on Sunday’s upper body workout, I used 35 dumbbells for my last set of chest presses and 30 lbs for my last set of incline presses and I physically could NOT do either of those weights today. I’m not sure if it’s because I exerted myself more on the bench press (hit a new record of 75 lbs! that’s well over half my BW) or because I’m not taking enough time between muscle groups–maybe I need 3 days instead of 2.
.
Then I did a 15 minute sprint interval workout with the highest speed I’ve done: 11.0 mph!
.
Sprint Intervals, 15 minutes
  • 1 min warm-up at 4.0 mph
  • 1 min 9.0 mph
  • 2 min 4.0 mph
  • 1 min 9.5 mph
  • 2 min 4.0 mph
  • 1 min 10.0 mph
  • 2 min 4.0 mph
  • 1 min 10.5 mph
  • 2 min 4.0 mph
  • 1 min 11.0 mph
  • 6 minute cooldown
Oh my gosh it was hard to run at 11.0 mph! I was determined to finish out the whole minute, and I did–but just barely! I had to push the stop button and jump off once the time was up. And let’s just say it’s a good thing I was doing this on an empty stomach…This was about a 5:30 mile pace–I have no idea how some people can run an entire mile even faster than that!
.
Afterwards I went to the nail place to get my nails filled in. I hate getting my nails done because it takes forever and it’s boring, but I don’t like how my nails look without tips.
.
For breakfast I had something really creative. Nah, I’m just kidding, I had eggs and greek yogurt again:
(I added some raspberries to the yogurt after the picture). Actually, I did something a little different: I used 2 whole eggs + 4 whites instead of just 2 extra whites. I felt like such a body builder eating all those egg whites! Verdict: didn’t like it as much. I think 2 whole + 2 whites is the perfect ratio, which is why I always make my eggs that way! (Just 2 eggs tastes too “egg-y” to me!) Maybe I could boost the taste by adding some vegetables, but in general the extra 6 grams of protein just probably isn’t worth it.
.
After waking up late, going to the gym, and getting my nails done, I didn’t eat breakfast until 2. Honestly I felt GREAT not eating til so late. I used to think that was a “bad” thing, but after reading about Intermittent Fasting I have reconsidered. I’ll write more about that later though!
.
I didn’t eat dinner until 7:30: mahi-mahi burgers and roasted brussel sprouts:
Then a mango around 9 pm. It was a little underripe but still good!
.
After that I went to the business school to work on a group project…then to the library to work on econ homework with a friend. I didn’t get home until 2am! I ate this bar around 1:20 a.m.
.
I REALLY don’t like eating this late but I was pretty hungry and thought a protein bar wouldn’t be too hard on my stomach. I used to be obsessed with these bars because I thought they tasted like reeses cups, but now I’m kinda meh. I definitely go through phases with bars.
.
As you can see, I didn’t really hit my protein goals at all today: I had about 130 grams. However, considering that’s out of about 1400-1500 calories that’s actually a pretty good ratio. Again–some days I definitely eat 800-1000 calories more than this–I just wasn’t as hungry today! Probably due to the late breakfast!

Leave a Reply

