I Did It!

I was excited to get up and go to the gym this morning to see if I could squat my body weight–and I did! I squatted 140 lbs, which is a little over. That’s why I love lifting heavy weights: I always have a new goal to push myself to!

Today’s Lower Body Workout (8 reps per set)

  • Squats: 115 lbs x5, 125 lbs, 140 lbs
  • Deadlifts: 105 lbs x5
  • Sumo Squats: 115 lbs x5
  • Incline Leg Press: 200 lbs added x3, 220 lbs x3
This was hard! Basically Mondays are the day that I work on doing just 4-6 exercises of lower body compound muscle groups and focus on increasing my maximum weight. On Tuesday’s I will do the same for my upper body.
.
Guess what my breakfast was? 🙂
.
.
I cannot even describe to you how much I love Greek yogurt. It literally makes me excited to go to bed every night so I can wake up and eat it in the morning. I can’t remember ever feeling this way about a food before. Eggs didn’t do this for me, nor did smoothies when I was in my smoothie phase, or bagels before that. But Greek yogurt = LOVE.
.
Today I wore:
Sleeveless Turtleneck: Express
Shorts: Express
Crop Jacket: Cache
Flats: Banana Republic outlets
Sunglasses: Juicy Couture via Nordstrom
.
I love the warm weather because it’s easier to get creative with clothes! When it’s cold outside I just wear jeans, boots, and a white or black fitted shirt everyday. (Fact: I did not wear a color to class until a month into this semester!)
.
I haven’t had almonds in awhile, so I packed some as a snack for class (1/2 cup).
.
Hi almonds!
.
And this yummy guy at 12:30:
.
.
Hayyyy pear (3:30):
.
.
It used to be that if I was hungry during my last class (3:30-4:45) I’d try to wait until I got home to eat something. But I’ve realized it’s better to eat a snack about an hour before I get back to the apartment so that way I can go to the gym right away if I want to, and I’m not tempted to eat the entire kitchen when I walk in!
.
I didn’t get much sleep this weekend and I was SO tired…but not really tired enough to nap. I hate that feeling 😦 So I just rested a little until I got hungry! I ate an easy dinner around 7:30: broccoli, mahi-mahi burgers, and the other half of my cantaloupe.
.
.
If I ever wrote a recipe book, all the recipes would be like: 1) Dump broccoli out of bag onto pan 2) Spray with cooking spray 3) Put in oven. I am not a good cook, so I try just to not mess things up!
.
Guess what I ate after that? 🙂
.
.
Andd a bowl of strawberries, frozen raspberries, and frozen blueberries with soymilk right before bed (around 10)
.
.
Okay looking at what I ate today…I think I’m I’m eating too much fruit. I had raspberries, blueberries, strawberries, cantaloupe, and a pear. That’s a little bit of overkill. Granted it’s not cheetos, but fruit is still pure sugar and it takes room in my stomach away from the protein that I should be eating if I want to build muscle. You’re supposed to eat at least 1.0-1,5 of protein for every pound, and today I probably had about 135 which is on the low end of where I need to be on a normal day. I could fix that by subbing out say the pear for some eggs (although a pear is more portable haha!) So my goal for tomorrow is a better balance! Now off to bed with me (SO early)…I need to be mucho productive tomorrow!
Leave a Reply

