Hangover = Cravings

Last night my roommates and I threw a party for our friend’s 21st birthday. As you can imagine, there was quite a bit of this happening:

I’ve been really busy this semester so it was fun to take a break and let loose! What wasn’t so fun was waking up with a serious headache the next morning!

Typically I have trouble eating well when I’m hungover because I get very intense and specific cravings, plus I’m feeling so bad that it’s hard to care about eating healthy! Today I decided just to roll with my cravings, but still try to eat foods that I normally do.

I started off with a giant yogurt bowl: 2 individual cartons of 2% Fage (yes, I should just buy a larger container!) mixed up with frozen raspberries, frozen blueberries, and walnuts:

Then I curled up in a ball on my bed until I got hungry again 😦 Obviously had to have some eggs: 2 whole plus 2 whites as usual.

Two of our guy friends that slept over after the party were still there, and they were confused by my pancake-like eggs! Haha.

Then I roasted some baby broccoli (or “broccolini”) while I cleaned the kitchen:

The guys were confused by this too! Broccolini is pretty much my favorite vegetable ever right now–I think I like it better than regular broccoli. I baked some tofu in the oven too, but by the time it was done I didn’t want it! That’s what I mean about weird cravings. Instead I had this bowl of frozen fruit (sorry it’s so blurry!):

That’s strawberries, watermelon, blueberries, raspberries, walnuts, and soymilk (I drink plain unsweetened). I’d put the strawberries and watermelon in the freezer yesterday but didn’t get a chance to eat it before the party so I pulled it out today and supplemented it with frozen blueberries and raspberries plus unfrozen strawberries. When you pour soymilk on frozen fruit it crystallizes and it’s so, so good! And the walnuts add crunch. I don’t like cereal so this is like my version of cereal.

Then I was craving some chocolate cake, but that’s nothing new–that’s been my go-to craving for months! It was my dad’s 61st birthday today so I’m probably going to go home tomorrow and I’m thinking of picking up a “Great Wall of Chocolate” from PF Changs for him–then I can eat some too! I would have killed for a slice today, but as the nearest PF Changs is 30 minutes away I settled for 4 squares of Lindt 85% dark chocolate instead:

Check out the nutrition stats on this btw:

5 grams of protein, 6 grams of fiber, and only 5 grams of sugar per serving! That’s like health food, not candy! If you compare it to a bar of milk chocolate with 25+ grams of sugar it’s like an entirely different food.

But I was still craving something cake-y, so I had this bar:

Then this one:

Yea, look at me pretending that I only eat protein bars for convenience, then eating 2 in a row when I’m sitting at my house with a whole fridge of food at my disposal. Well, they taste like candy bars to me and that’s what I wanted!

Then I figured I should head to the gym before it got dark so I could at least have done something productive today! But when I was getting ready to go to the gym, I had a horrible discovery: my ipod is missing! It’s a pink nano and we were using it to play music at the party last night. It’s really small so I’m hoping it just got misplaced somewhere that I overlooked, but I really hope that someone didn’t take it! I NEED my music to function! After at least a half-hour of searching I gave up and decided to listen to Pandora on my phone instead. (I also finished off my watermelon right before heading to the gym–it was a little guy!)

At the gym, I did an upper body-workout (I’ve done 3 lower body days and 3 upper body days this week). To give you an idea of my new “heavier” routine, this is what I did:

Upper Body Workout (8 reps per set)

  • Bench Press: 55 lbs x3, 65 lbs x3, 70 lbs (over half my body weight!)
  • Chest Press: 25 lb dumbbells x3, 30 lbs x3, 35 lbs
  • Incline Chest Press: 20 lb dumbbells x3, 25 lbs x3, 30 lbs (maxed out at 6 reps on last set)
  • Seated Military Press: 20 lb dumbbells x3 (25 lb was being used…oh well)
  • Side Delt Raises: 10 lb dumbbells x3, 15 lbs x3
  • Dumbbell Row: 25 lb dumbbell x3, 30 lbs x3, 40 lbs
  • Pushups: 5 sets of 10
I intended to work my biceps and triceps too, but then I remembered that Chipotle closes at 10 and after seeing my roommates eat it today I had to have some too! (I was just too lazy to leave my apartment previously haha). So I cut the arms short and did a SUPER quick interval sprint on the treadmill: 1 minute at 10.0 followed by 1 minute at 4.0, times four.
.
Chipotle burrito bowl!!!:
.
I don’t eat meat, tortillas, or rice, so you’d think I wouldn’t like Chipotle, but I am obsessed with their grilled vegetables! Basically my bowls consist of:
  • Black beans
  • TONS of grilled vegetables (I usually have to ask the server for thirds or fourths…I feel kinda bad but I figure I’m not eating the meat so I want to get my money’s worth)
  • Chopped tomato salsa (ditto)
  • Corn
  • Mild AND spicy hot sauce–lots!
  • Cheese
  • Lettuce
Then I add lemon juice and TONS of tabasco sauce on top. I love food that is so spicy that I cry! I had to have some cantaloupe on the side though to tame the fire in my mouth:
.
.
Plus a couple cups of chai tea with soymilk.
.
Whew, that was a lot of food! I didn’t count calories during the day at all, but just now tallied them up and I would estimate about 2300-2500. That’s just a guess though–it’s hard to know exactly with fruits and vegetables and you will NEVER see me weigh my food (unless I become like a professional body builder haha!) No complaints because I was hungry and I literally will not ever restrict calories, although some days I eat substantially less than this. I did better than I thought with the protein too–I’d guess at least 120 grams even though I mostly ate produce!
.
Oh, and my hangover went away by afternoon so I guess loading up on the fruits and veggies worked, which makes sense because they’re mostly water! Whew, this was a long post–but you got to see everything I ate in a whole day! I will be back with an update on lifting later this week–goodnight!
One Response

  1. […] Dips: 5 sets of 10 (* = my highest weight for given exercise) . Looking back on Sunday’s upper body workout, I used 35 dumbbells for my last set of chest presses and 30 lbs for my last set of incline presses […]

Leave a Reply

