Brownies

Friday night I got together with my two best friends Caitlan and Lauren in DC. We all go to different schools, but within about an hour of each other so we try to get together every couple months.

We had a couple glasses of wine and caught up then headed to a Mexican restaurant/bar for margaritas! Normally I’m not a huge margarita person but we got pitchers of mango and strawberry margaritas that were SO good. Plus the bartender gave us a couple rounds of tequila shots 🙂

The last time I went to a Mexican restaurant was actually with Caitlan and another friend about a month ago. We had just come from Shamrockfest (an outdoor St. Patrick’s day-themed music festival) and we were starving and absolutely fiended on tortilla chips. Eating all those chips made me feel yucky when I woke up the next morning so I remembered how I felt and only ate 2 chips this time. Instead I just ate the salsa with a fork! I also had a salad with grilled shrimp. I LOVE how they cook shrimp in Mexican restaurants–it’s so good!

We got back to Caitlan’s apartment around midnight and I was seriously craving brownies…so I made some!

I am so picky about brownies…they have to be fudgey and gooey or I won’t eat them! I made them extra-fudgy by using less eggs (1 instead of 2), a little more oil, and 4 heaping spoonfuls of cocoa; then I underbaked them a little and popped them in the fridge to set up. These were the BEST brownies ever and I literally ate half the pan!

I wanted to throw this in there because I know this blog gives the impression that I’m a really healthy eater–and I usually am–but not ALL the time! I pretty much eat what I want, and sometimes that means half a pan of brownies…especially on a girl’s night! There’s no arbitrary rule that says I can’t eat tortilla chips but I can eat brownies: I just think about what I want and how a food will affect my body and energy levels, and make my decision based on that.  You don’t have to deprive yourself to be healthy!

Leave a Reply

