Business Outfit plus Upper Body and Abs

In case I hadn’t mentioned before, I’m a finance and economics major. I intern on Tuesdays and Thursdays in the private wealth management division of a major financial services provider/investment bank. (I won’t say the name but you’ve heard of it.) The dress code is pretty formal. Usually I play it safe with dress pants and a button-down, but I’ve been trying to switch up my look a little and utilize more of my workrobe.

Today’s outfit:


Shirt: BCBG
Belt: Express (it’s my favorite belt!)
Pants: Express (literally my one pair of dress pants that desperately need washed)
Bracelet: Coach outlets (18th bday present from my boyfriend at the time)
Bag: DKNY via Lord and Taylors

After work I completed a ridiculous arm workout. I switched up the exercises that I normally do and focused on targeting one muscle group per circuit. It took about 60 minutes:

Upper Body Workout (60 minutes)

Circuit 1: Biceps (10 lb dumbbells, 15 reps x3)

  • Bicep curls
  • Hammer curls
  • Seated preacher curls
Circuit 2: Triceps (x3)
  • Lying triceps extension: 10 lb dumbbells, 15 reps
  • Standing triceps extension: 15 lb dumbbell, 15 reps
  • Tricep kickbacks: 10 lb dumbbell, 15 reps per arm
  • Tricep dips: 10 reps
Circuit 3: Shoulders/Back (x3)
  • Bent-over rows: 15 lb dumbbell, 15 reps per arm
  • Lateral raise: 10 lb dumbbells, 15 reps
  • Upright rows: 10 lb dumbbells, 12 reps
  • Front raise: 10 lb dumbbells, 10 reps
Circuit 4: Shoulders (on stability ball — 10 lb dumbbells, x3)
  • Seated military press: 15 reps
  • “Arnold press”: 10 reps
  • Shoulder rotators: 15 reps
Circuit 5: Chest (12 reps x3)
  • Seated lat bar pull-down: 40 lbs
  • Lever seated fly: 40 lbs
  • Incline chest press: 15 lb dumbbells
  • Incline dumbbell flies: 15 lb dumbbells
This was HARD! My muscles were crying at the end. I think I will feel it tomorrow! I then completed a 20 minute sprint interval workout:

Sprint Intervals (20 minutes)

  • 0-1: 4.0 mph
  • 1-2: 8.0 mph
  • 2-3: 4.0 mph
  • 3-4: 8.5 mph
  • 4-5: 4.0 mph
  • 5-6: 9.0 mph
  • 6-7: 4.0 mph
  • 7-8: 9.5 mph
  • 8-9: 4.0 mph
  • 9-9.5: 10.0 mph
  • 9.5-11: 4.0 mp
  • 11-12: 9.5 mph
  • 12-13: 4.0 mph
  • 13-14: 9.0 mph
  • 14-15: 4.0 mph
  • 15-16: 8.5 mph
  • 16-17: 4.0 mph
  • 17-18: 8.0 mph
  • 18-20: 4.0 mph
Followed by 10 minutes of incline treadmill walking reading April’s edition of Cosmopolitan 🙂

And about 10 minutes of abs:

Ab Workout 
  • 30 seconds plank
  • 15 double crunches with 6 lb medicine ball
  • 30 seconds plank
  • 15 side crunches (per side)
  • 30 seconds plank
  • 20 ball twists with raised feet and 6 lb medicine ball
  • 30 seconds plank
  • 15 standing side crunches (per side) with 20 lb medicine ball
  • 30 seconds plank
As you can see I like doing planks! Well actually I don’t, but I read that planks are the most important exercise to stabilize and pull in your core abdominal muscles–which makes sense–so I’ve been making them the focus of every ab workout.

For that matter, I don’t think it’s necessary, or even beneficial, to do extensive ab work or ridiculous amounts of crunches. The only way to get well-defined abs is to eliminate the layer of fat covering the muscle. You do this through your diet and overall total-body exercise–you can’t just spot-train your way to a six-pack! If you take care of the lifting and clean eating, then you only need a few minutes of abs a couple days a week to see results. 
Leave a Reply

