Camera Woes and Wednesday Workout

I am horrible at blogging.

Actually, scratch that. I am horrible at taking pictures.

I was camera-less for almost 2 years after, um, a smashed-camera incident one night freshman year. My old camera was a Canon powershot and I loved it. Finally I decided to bite the bullet and get a new one. (I am the worst procrastinator at buying technology stuff I need–when my laptop battery died it took me TEN MONTHS to buy a new one during which time I had to carry the extension cord around everywhere).

I really like the Nikon Coolpix S4000 with a touch screen and spend forever trying to find it. But when I finally got it I was pretty disappointed. The touch screen is hard to use, and the picture quality seemed poor. Granted, I may just have it on the wrong lighting settings, but I wouldn’t know because I have the language set in Dutch and can’t figure out how to get it back to English.

Can you tell I am terrible at technology?

Anyway, I think I am going to return it and get the Nikon Coolpix S3000, which I think will be easier to use plus it’s smaller and a little bit cheaper. I want to take care of that before Saturday because I’m going to Shamrockfest with two of my friends from high school who are back on spring break, and I want pictures!

In the meantime, since I don’t have any pictures I thought I’d post my workout from tonight:

Part 1: 60 minutes legs (each exercise 15 reps x 3 sets)

  • Leg press: 45 lb each side
  • Circuit of squats, hamstring deadlifts, and lunges: 15 lb dumbbells
  • Hack squat: 45 lb each side
  • Leg extension: (setting 3)
  • Sumo squat: 20 lb dumbbell
  • Squats on power rack: 17.5 lb each side
  • Inner thigh abductor: (setting 6)
  • Outer thigh abductor: (setting 5)
  • One-leg hamstring deadlift: 15 lb dumbbells
Part 2: 30 minutes elliptical (alternating between resistance level 15 and 10)

Part 3: 15 minutes abs
  • Circuit One (x3): 60 seconds plank, 60 seconds right side plank, 60 seconds left plank, 10 double leg lifts
  • Circuit Two (x3): 15 crunches with 10 lb weight, 15 twists with 10 lb weight & legs off floor
Part 4: 15 minutes treadmill interval workout
  • 0-1: 7.0 mph, 1.0 incline
  • 1-2: 7.5 mph, 1.0 incline
  • 2-3: 8.0 mph, 1.0 incline
  • 3-4: 8.5 mph, 1.0 incline
  • 4-6: 4.0 mph, 1.0 incline
  • 6-7: 8.0 mph, 1.0 incline
  • 7-8: 4.0 mph, 1.0 incline
  • 8-9: 8.5 mph, 1.0 incline
  • 9-10: 4.0 mph, 1.0 incline
  • 10-11: 9.0 mph , 1.0 incline
  • 11-12: 4.0 mph, 1.0 incline
  • 12-13: 3.5 mph, 1.5 incline
  • 13-14: 3.0 mph, 2.0 incline
  • 14-15: 2.0 mph, 2.0 incline
That workout felt amazing! It was a little longer than usual, but I hadn’t lifted since Friday and hadn’t exercised at all since Sunday. Writing down part 1 took me forever because I don’t know the names of any machines. I tend to call them things like “lie-down leg-pusher,” which actually isn’t much different from the real names. It’s good to know what they’re called though.
.
I wasn’t planning on doing an interval workout but once I added it in I was so glad I did. I listened to “Paint It Black” by the Rolling Stones which is the BEST running song and the perfect length to get me through the first four minutes of straight running–exactly 0.5 mile. Then I listened to “Money for Nothing” by the Dire Straits, another favorite workout song. I am working on adding more HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) into my workouts. I am convinced it is more effective and efficient than just spending hours on the elliptical, as I am sometimes guilty of doing.
.
After I got off the treadmill I felt like I was going to throw up. Call me crazy but I think that’s the sign of a good workout! Maybe I just watch too much Biggest Loser because¬†contestants are always puking during the workouts, and Bob and Jillian are cheering them on. When I ran cross-country and track during high school it was inevitable that someone would throw up during our hard-core workouts, but I never did. I always stopped when I felt sick rather than push myself to the next level.
.
For my imaginary readers: have you ever thrown up while exercising? Do you see it as a good thing?
4 Responses

  1. OMG (excuse me while I scream like a little girl!) – the workouts! I have wanted to add weights & HIIT to my schedule, but am kind of clueless (and a bit intimidated at the gym’s boy’s section)

    I’ve looked around on ExRx, but haven’t put any workouts together. So imagine the thrill of coming across a put together workout for me to play around with.

    Shannon, you are on my top list of sites I stalk. Seriously, I’m learning so much from reading your entries. I feel like I should be writing & sending you a check for nutritional / exercise education.

    Thank you!
    ~Raeesa

    • Raeesa that is SO awesome to hear!!! It’s so gratifying to know that people are reading what I write, yknow? And so glad that I’m inspiring other women to get into lifting!!!

      The one thing is that if you look at the workout on this page and post prior to April 5, 2011, it’s before i transitioned into heavier lifting after doing some research. Now my I’ll do 3-6 exercises each time with 5 sets of 8 reps for each exercise, and that’s definitely what I recommend–NOT the 15 reps or long list of exercises that I used to. (If you can do 15 reps, then the weight is way too light!)

      Also, I’ve since found out that the abductor machines that I’ve listed here are basically useless, and I never do them anymore, so I definitely don’t recommend those. Best strength training exercises are squats, deadlifts, presses, pushups–anything that engages major and multiple muscle groups. I’ve been meaning to write a guide to weight lifting for here and tumblr, and I’ll put that up soon!

      • Good to know about 5×8 vs 3×15!

        OMG, I would love to read a guide with the benefit of what you’ve learned since you started and which exercises you prefer, tips. It’s kind of funny that even though I lifted years ago, the intimidation factor about weight lifting is surprising present. It sound simple: pick up weight, lift, lower. And my goal is to gain muscle, even if it means changing my target weight.

        You are definitely inspiring me to ditch the mainstream calorie restriction & cardio-only mindset.

        I think adding muscle bulk would help me tremendously, because I’ve been punishing myself with cardio alone with little results and I’m certain that weightlifting is the key I’ve been missing.

Leave a Reply

